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Modes of Transportation

Personal
• A privately owned vehicle.

Commercial
• Air or ground motor carrier, taxicab, or bus.
• Motor carrier operated by the IHS or a federally recognized Indian Tribe that 

meets all applicable public service commission standards.

Specialized
• Motor carrier with an applicable public service commission license to 

transport physically disabled individuals (e.g. wheelchair or stretcher van).
• Motor carrier operated by the IHS or a federally recognized Indian Tribe that 

meets all applicable public service commission standards.
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NEMT Program Requirements
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• NEMT is available to obtain medical services covered by Medicaid.  
• Reimbursable mileage is calculated utilizing the closest site of service. 
• Prior authorization is required. 
• Per diem is not available when a round trip can be reasonably made in one day.
• Coverage is limited to the least expensive available mode of transportation.
• Attendant coverage is subject to medical necessity review. 
• Mileage is rounded to the nearest whole mile.
• Mileage reimbursement is only available for loaded miles. 
• Payment is made after the Medicaid Transportation Center confirms the 

appointment was attended. 



Section 209 Requirements

• The Consolidation Appropriations Act, 2021 added four new NEMT provider and 
driver requirements. 

• The driver requirements apply to commercial, specialized, and personal 
transportation.

• Individual drivers providing NEMT services must:
• Have a valid driver’s license, and
• Not be excluded from participation in any federal healthcare program.

• Providers of NEMT services should have processes in place:
• to address any violation of state drug law, and
• to disclose to Montana Medicaid the driving history of each employed driver. 

• This is a recordkeeping requirement. Unless specifically requested, the information does 
not need to be submitted to Montana Medicaid. 5



NEMT – Personal Transportation

Reimbursement

• Mileage
• $0.33 per mile

• Per Diem
• Each meal: $5.77
• Hotel: $41.93

Payment Method

• Check 
• Issued after appointment attendance is confirmed. 
• Payment is not made if the total is less than $5.00. 
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Commercial and Specialized Transportation Provider Enrollment
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• Providers enroll through the MPATH Provider Services Portal.
• Website: https://provider-mt-mms.optum.com/

• Transportation providers will enroll as an atypical provider.
• Commercial – Provider Type 23
• Specialized – Provider Type 24

• Enrollment training guides can be found on the Montana Medicaid Provider 
Enrollment Page.
• Website: https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/providerenrollment

https://provider-mt-mms.optum.com/
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/providerenrollment


NEMT – Commercial Transportation
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Claim Type
• CMS -1500

Diagnosis Code
• In-town: Z02.90
• Out-of-town: Z75.3

Procedure Code
• A0140 – Trip under 16 miles

• One unit per trip 
• Round trip transports are billed as 2 units.

• A0100 – Trip 16 miles or more
• One unit per mile

Reimbursement
• A0140 - $13.73 per trip
• A0100 - $1.07 per mile



NEMT – Specialized Transportation
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Claim Type
• CMS -1500

Diagnosis Code
• In-town: Z02.90
• Out-of-town: Z75.3

Procedure Code
• A0130 – Trip under 16 miles

• One unit per trip 
• Round trip transports are billed as 2 units.

• A0100 – Trip 16 miles or more
• One unit per mile

Reimbursement
• A0130 - $13.73 per trip
• A0100 - $1.07 per mile



Maintain a Dispatch Log

• Providers must maintain and retain original dispatch records.
• The dispatch log must include:

• Member name
• Originating address
• Destination Address
• Date
• Time
• Authorized units
• Charges
• Prior authorization number
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Resources

• Prior Authorization Requests or 
Questions
• Medicaid Transportation Center

• Phone: (800) 292-7114
• Fax: (800) 291-7791

• Provider Enrollment
• Montana Provider Relations

• Phone: (800) 624-3958
• Email: MTEnrollment@conduent.com

• Transportation Provider Page
• Commercial

• https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/23
• Specialized

• https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/24

• State Policy Contact
• Transportation Program Officer 

• Lynea Linz (Lynea.linz@mt.gov) 
• Phone: (406) 444-3182

• Bureau Chief
• Katie Hawkins (Khawkins@mt.gov) 

• Phone: (406) 444-4144
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Resources and Contact Information

•Phone: (800) 292-7114 | Fax: (800) 291-7791

Medicaid Transportation Center (Prior Authorization Requests or Questions)

•Phone: (800) 624-3958 | Email: MTEnrollment@conduent.com

Montana Provider Relations (Provider Enrollment) 

•Katie Hawkins, Allied Health Services Bureau Chief
•Phone: (406) 444-4144 | Email: Khawkins@mt.gov

•Lynea Linz, Transportation Program Officer
•Phone: (406) 444-3182 | Email: Lynea.Linz@mt.gov

State Policy 

•Commercial https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/23
•Specialized https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/24

Transportation Provider Page
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